A World Where There Are Octobers

October brought a month with Mississippi chapters! After my break in Atlanta, I traveled back to Oxford for stint with Delta Sigma. We spent October improving chapter operations, continuing Alpha Education for their new members and preparing for upcoming officer elections and transitions. My Ole Miss sisters didn’t get me too much grief after Alabama’s loss at the hands of their football team, but I’m already looking forward to a rematch next year.

After a couple weeks in Oxford, I returned to Starkville to spend Diamond Days with the Epsilon Eta chapter at Mississippi State. (I’ve made several jokes that I seem to bring the football good luck to all the chapters I visit!) I enjoyed seeing these women again, especially in a very different setting than formal recruitment. I’ve had so many encounters with this chapter over the past couples years: from participating colony recruitment, bid day and installation as a collegian to my first chapter visit, first formal recruitment and first Diamond Days as a Leadership Consultant. I look forward to working with them more in the future!

From MSU, I traveled back to their rival school, Ole Miss, where I finished out October. My last couple weeks included more election preparations, planning for the chapter’s Diamond Days, a Hocus Pocus sisterhood event and another game day in the Grove (where we were all able to united our football interests and cheer against Auburn).

The month would not be complete without another strange encounter with the Mississippi weather, although this time I was very thankful the monsoon rains came before a social event instead of during a recruitment round!

IMG_2533

What’s next? I head off to Jacksonville, Florida, as a member of the expansion presentation team at the University of North Florida. Afterwards, I fly to Lafayette, Louisiana, to reunited with two of my consultant sisters, and assist them with the installation of the Alpha Delta Pi colony at the University of Louisiana! It’s another month and another adventure on the road developing and strengthening our sisterhood!

Leave a comment