Gallery

Leadership Seminar 2014

Leadership Seminar 2014 in Atlanta was my first official “stop” as an incoming Leadership Consultant. As excited as I was to see my chapter sisters and other Alpha Delta Pi women I had come to know with during my four years as a collegiate, I was even more anxious to meet the eight other incoming LCs.

During new member education, DLCs, recruitment and other events, we tell each other that Alpha Delta Pi provides women with common values and a purpose. It doesn’t matter where you are from or what college you attended, ADPi provides an immediate relationship and conversation when you meet another sister. Meeting my fellow consultant sisters was a prime example of the message of common ground we cherish. After some stilted conversation, the nine of us fell into a natural friendship like we had know each for three years, rather than three hours.

First group picture of the incoming LCs

First group picture of the incoming LCs

Our time at Leadership Seminar included lunch with Grand Council, a photo shoot for Alpha Delta Pi’s The Adelphean, a video interview (where we found out who excelled in front of the camera…) and participation in the Adelphean Compass. The Alpha Delta Pi Foundation funds leadership training for its collegiate members through IMPACT ADPi and the Adelphean Compass. As a participant in Adelphean Compass, our facilitators showed us the importance of leading with self, leading with vision, leading with action and leading with relationship. The incoming consultants were honored to have Mrs. Beth Mannle (affectionately known as Mother Mannle) as our small group leaders. All the Compass facilitators were ADPi alumnae who have shown exceptional leadership in both a professional and sorority capacity.

Diamond Group with Mother Mannle

Diamond Group with Mother Mannle

On Saturday, we took a trip to Memorial Headquarters and Executive Office. The incoming LCs made a beeline for the bunk room, where we will be sleeping for three weeks during our training in July. We later walked around both buildings that house ADPi heirlooms, history and the offices of staff members. One of my favorite things at Memorial Headquarters is the map of the US and Canada, which shows all the active and dormant chapters. It was a stunning visual representation of our sisterhood!

Leadership Seminar wrapped up with awards, Grand Council’s skit and the outgoing Leadership Consultants’ skit. The incoming LCs also received their Violet sister (Shout out to Haley Massey!).

My Sweet Vi!

My Sweet Vi!

As my first ADPi event as an alumna and a Leadership Consultant, I thoroughly enjoyed meeting new sisters, reconnecting with old friends and getting a glimpse of my year to come. Can’t wait to start training in July!

Two of my favorite consultant sisters!

Two of my favorite consultant sisters!

2 thoughts on “Leadership Seminar 2014

Leave a comment